lipsticking

Oh, Alice. Sweet, gross Alice.

Wednesday evening we were getting Alice ready for bed. At that moment between finishing getting her into her pajamas and choosing her bedtime story, The Kidling stuck her index finger up into that tiny little nostril of hers and extracted a booger. Her eyes, gleaming mischievously, didn’t leave my face for a moment as she placed that slimy booger into her mouth.

I was being provoked, dear readers. Provoke The Mama and she gives you… exactly what you want.

“Alice,” I admonished, “Don’t eat your boogers!”

She gave us a sly smile and stuck her finger back into that wee nostril. Then she smeared whatever she extracted onto that perfect little mouth of hers before declaring, “I’m lipsticking me!”

I wish I could say I kept a straight face and ignored this little bit of nastiness, but that would be a lie. No, The Mama giggled. And giggled, and giggled, and giggled. Once I finished giggling, I cracked up. The Dada looked at me disapprovingly, and I can’t say I blame him.

Oops.

I do believe we will be seeing more of this repulsive primping.

About The Mamahttp://kidlingville.comProfessional talker, editor, emailer, problem solver, adjunct lecturer, blogger, and mother to the brilliantly absurd Kidling.

8 thoughts on “lipsticking

  1. She outdid herself this time…some people use lipstick in one of those little lipstick canisters..This is the first time I have heard of its portability redefined in such a way…;-)

    • Eww. I’m glad she is so resourceful, but I wish she used said resources and outside-of-the-box thinking to, you know, tie her own shoes or learn to make me coffee. Hell, maybe she could even learn to use a corkscrew.

      Until then, booger lipstick it is.

    • I literally shuddered at the thought.

      Ick. Gross. Ugh. Eww. and Yuck.

      Thanks for the spin. I find myself quite grateful for witnessing the snotlipstick episode now.

  2. This is really pretty phenomenal embarrassment material for later. “Oh, so you want to wear lipstick to your sixth grade dance? No problem. But only if it’s the kind that you wore when you were four.”

whaddaya have to say for yourself?

