on boogers

This isn’t my first post about boogers (see here, here, and here ) and I’m sure it won’t be the last…

While driving on a recent afternoon, I looked in my rearview mirror to see my little munchkin munchin’ on a booger. Like any good mama would, I told her to stop immediately. So what did Alice do? She took it out of her mouth and attempted to hand it to me.

Don’t ever say my life isn’t glamorous.

I told Alice “no thank you” but not for the reason you might assume. Oh no, I told her I was too busy driving to take it right then. As if there is ever a good time to take a four-year-old’s slobbery booger. Remember that bit? About my glamorous life? No? Neither do I. Because it just isn’t true.

Eventually traffic calmed enough for me to reach back and take the booger. Really. Then I rounded a corner and had to hold it there on my hand until I could safely dispose of it. This, of course, got Alice to thinking. Always the optimist, Alice noted, “It’s a good thing it’s a sticky booger because that way it will stick on to your hand until you are ready.”

There is no such thing as ready, Alice. Not for that.

 

 

About The Mamahttp://kidlingville.comProfessional talker, editor, emailer, problem solver, adjunct lecturer, blogger, and mother to the brilliantly absurd Kidling.

20 thoughts on “on boogers

    • Of course I did, Stacie. No self-respecting mother could live with herself knowing the fate that booger otherwise would have faced: one fateful ‘chomp’, a sad life in captivity, only to eventually be released 24 hours later to… well… you know.

whaddaya have to say for yourself?

