The Dada and The Big Footstep

This is a tale of half truths and partial understandings. It begins this evening in Our House. A typical Tuesday evening by all measures. The Family returned home from work and school at the usual time. The Kidling got ready for her swimming lesson at her usual pace–glacial–while I pulled together a snack for the car. I finished, then went upstairs to see how things were progressing.

Slowly. They were progressing slowly. It was, after all, a typical evening.

The movement toward swimming lessons ground to a sudden halt somewhere between the tankini and the sweatpants. That was when The Kidling ordered The Dada to make some serious changes:

“Dad! Don’t take big footsteps because that’s gas and it’s bad for the Earth!”

I was momentarily perplexed. Then came my AHA! moment.

“Do you mean his carbon footprint?” I inquired.

Some discussion ensued, thereby further delaying the donning of the aforementioned sweatpants and The Family’s progress toward the door and the swimming lessons that lay beyond.

“I thought it was because of a carbon Sasquatch. Because he takes big steps and he makes gas.”

So, so much better than any other explanation I could have hoped for. Brava, Kidling. Brava.

About The Mamahttp://kidlingville.comProfessional talker, editor, emailer, problem solver, adjunct lecturer, blogger, and mother to the brilliantly absurd Kidling.

12 thoughts on “The Dada and The Big Footstep

  1. You are hilarious. I’m so glad I found you in this wilderness. Your photo, underneath that stern look must be a terrific mom. If you have the time, do visit my blog at…

    http://blarneeblog.wordpress.com/

    You know, this might be a presumptuous of me, but children these days are more conscious about the environment than we, the parents, are. My 13 year old son scolds me all the time, about chucking garbage, waste, etc.

    Cheers, Kidlingville’s Mom!

whaddaya have to say for yourself?

