election day

Happy Election Day!

Here in Our Town, we decided a City Council race and one attempt to repeal a city ordinance. The Parents are quite fortunate: we drop The Kidling off at the before school program which happens to be held in our polling place. One stop shopping here, ladies and gentlemen.

Though I jest, this is oddly important to me. You see, I have always voted on election day with the rare exception when I am actually traveling on the day. Absentee ballots just don’t stir the same emotions in The Mama as does the march toward my cramped voting booth to exercise the franchise.

Excuse me while I wipe away the tears.

In addition to my melodramatic emotions, I vote on election day at my polling place for another reason. That’s right, The Kidling accompanies me to vote. We talk with her about voting, representative democracy, and the issues that are important to us while she interjects the occasional “Why” and “But I thought—”. I want her to understand that voting is her civic responsibility and it is not to be taken lightly.

So, this morning, she wiggled her little kidling self up next to me as I filled in my bubbles. I explained to her which candidates I was voting for when she gasped in dismay, “Why aren’t you voting for Barack Obama!?!”

Obama for Council. Quite the demotion from last year when she deemed you Boss of the World, eh Mr. President?

About The Mamahttp://kidlingville.comProfessional talker, editor, emailer, problem solver, adjunct lecturer, blogger, and mother to the brilliantly absurd Kidling.

2 thoughts on “election day

  1. This is great! We vote by mail here so it’s been a long time since I’ve visited a voting booth, so I just teach my kids how to be engaged citizens by dragging them to protest marches and such 😉

    My daughter thinks Barack Obama decides every law. I wish, kiddo, I wish.

  2. This brought back a flood of memories for me, Christine. When I was a kid, my father’s business was one of the polling places in our small town, so I grew up thinking that Election Day was just about the most exciting thing EVER. Daddy’s business would fill with all these nifty little booths, there’d be a constant stream of friends and neighbors passing through and saying hi to me, they were doing these mysterious things “behind the curtain,” etc. Ridiculous as it sounds, I still get a thrill every time I walk into a polling place…. Wonderful that The Kidling is being introduced to her civic duties early. It’s so important….

whaddaya have to say for yourself?

