re-entry

The Kidling had the good fortune to spend the better part of two weeks with two different sets of grandparents. Yes, she is the luckiest Kidling in the world. No, she was not happy to be home. The fact that she hopped out of the car upon arriving home to find a stack of her artwork in the recycle bin did not ease her re-entry.

Unfortunately, at the top of the stack of recycled masterpieces was a wocket-less pocket. The Mama, being the horrible human being that I am, tore off the feathered head of the wocket before tossing the remainder-pocket and headless wocket- into the stack.

The Kidling was understandably heartbroken. Fits and tears ensued. I held her and talked with her about how we can’t keep everything, blahblahblah. The recycling creates more paper for her to use for her art, blahblahblah. There are more trees in the world when we recycle, blahblahblah.

She wasn’t buying it.

Alice: (crying)ย Why are there so many noes?ย Why is it always ‘no’?

The Mama: (calmly) Alice-

Alice: (wails) Why is it always ‘no’? Why, from parents, is the answer always ‘no’?

The Mama: (more calmly) Alice, it isn’t always ‘no’. Mom and Dad say yes to you-

Alice: (interrupts, again.ย wailing, again.) Why, from parents, is the answer almost always ‘no’? Why is the answer almost always ‘no’? (continues into perpetuity. Seriously. I am pretty sure she is still talking about it, and this was 10 days ago)

I need to learn to cover my tracks.

About The Mamahttp://kidlingville.comProfessional talker, editor, emailer, problem solver, adjunct lecturer, blogger, and mother to the brilliantly absurd Kidling.

11 thoughts on “re-entry

  1. yep, you gotta sneak ’em out when they aren’t there! ๐Ÿ˜‰ Also, something that really works for me when my little man asks why the answer is always no and is in an emotional state….
    “I’m sorry it feels like so many ‘nos’ to you. That must be really hard for you to feel like parents are always saying no” Leave it at that… and add some cuddles ๐Ÿ™‚

    • Wise words, KL. Sometimes a person wants nothing more than recognition. Are you a mediator? Or a therapist? As a former mediator, it is funny that I know what I SHOULD be doing, but because the objectivity is absent, I forget… Thanks for the reminder.

      • ๐Ÿ™‚ I am neither, and both! It’s very hard when it’s your own kids. I had to learn it all the hard way because of the difficulties my son faces. Now it all comes as second nature to me.

whaddaya have to say for yourself?

