greetings from Nanaland (or Papaville, as the case may be)

First of all, apologies. My lack of kidling-isms this week is due to my lack of The Kidling. She has spent the past few days in Nanaland, a place with sunshine, flowers, dessert, extra bedtime stories, field trips, constant attention, and puppies.

Fine, there’s really only one puppy. Whatever.

Alas, just when I was starting to seriously lament the lack of silliness in my life, I chatted with The Nana on the phone. She relayed a few stories that are classic Alice. The first was at dinner time. Alice was starving and cleared her plate of tilapia, fresh green beans, cottage cheese, and who knows what else. Apparently we don’t feed her enough at home. The Nana commented on her appetite, assuming that The Kidling must have just been delighted with the offerings. Nope.

Regarding those fresh green beans, Alice told The Nana, “I thought they were yucky, but sometimes I eat yucky things because I know they’re good for me.” 

That’s my girl.

Now, The Papa and The Nana have had The Kidling for several nights, so you can bet there is another story where that one came from. As you know, dear readers, The Kidling is working on becoming a reader herself. She sounds out everything (yes, everything) and loves to talk about letters and sounds. As they all discussed phonics, Alice told her grandparents, “I say ‘sink,’ but I don’t mean like in water. I mean I use my brain. … It’s hard to make that sound without my front tooth!”

Indeed it is. And guess what? We get my toothless, sinking, health food eater back tonight. Whew!

About The Mamahttp://kidlingville.comProfessional talker, editor, emailer, problem solver, adjunct lecturer, blogger, and mother to the brilliantly absurd Kidling.

4 thoughts on “greetings from Nanaland (or Papaville, as the case may be)

  1. I love that The Kidling gets to spend time with her grandparents. The happy memories of these visits will be with her always.

    As a child, I spent *countless* hours with my grandparents. They lived pretty close and if too many days had passed since they had seen me (in their opinion), my grandmother would appear, pack my suitcase and abscond with me. My mother said that she frequently had to go to her parents and ask “if she could have her child back for a few days.” To say that I was doted upon is to exaggerate not at all. And in my humble (and totally unbiased opinion), there’s nothing wrong with that! 🙂

    • Oh, I couldn’t agree more. Alice is the luckiest Kidling I know; she gets to have six grandparents who love and adore her. And I also love thinking of her as an adult thinking of all the time she got to spend with grandparents when she was a wee one. It warms my heart.

whaddaya have to say for yourself?

