sick day

The Kidling took a sick day Wednesday and I was the fortunate parent whose turn it was to stay home with her. And no, I don’t say that in jest. You see, when The Kidling gets sick, she is darned near her normal self. In other words, sick days are “force fluids/administer medicine/enforce nap time/and play” days. “Snuggle far more than usual” days. Oh, and “indulge The Kidling’s whims because a sick kidling breaks my heart” days.

See why I was glad it was my turn to stay with her?

Because I got to let Alice sleep in, when I got back from my morning run, I sat down at my computer and leisurely tended to the book of alice. I responded to long-neglected blog comments (you might have noticed) and perused my notebooks for little Alice gems around which to build a story. Then, I spotted one from another sick day late last year.

Perfect.

On this particular sick day, Alice and I must have had one of our “I love you/I love you more” arguments. This is the very best kind of argument, as it is impossible to lose. Alice sealed her victory when she took my face in her tiny hands and turned my head to the side. Then she placed those little hands on my shoulders and whispered in the voice reserved for her most sacred secrets, “I love you more than Clifford and a giraffe stacked on top of each other with. Clifford first. And. The giraffe second.”

Cue melting heart.

About The Mamahttp://kidlingville.comProfessional talker, editor, emailer, problem solver, adjunct lecturer, blogger, and mother to the brilliantly absurd Kidling.

13 thoughts on “sick day

  1. I am right there with you. Melting. Clifford and a giraffe?! …too. stinkin’. cute. While I can’t stand to see the X or Y sick, I don’t mind being the one who gets to stay home, just for the calm and the cuddles. Yes, there are sniffles and sneezes and tissues everywhere (well, that is more when Y is sick!)…but there is also sweet, sweet time cuddling on the couch or in the bed together, taking care of little needs and requests. There is stillness among the sickness and I’ll take it … to steal away a little time with them.

whaddaya have to say for yourself?

