beauty shop

Recently, Alice has taken a liking to a game she calls “Beauty Shop.” The game is simple: The Mama (or The Dada) sits perfectly still, The Kidling yanks a comb through my (or his) hair forever several minutes, and expects me (or him) not to cry real tears of pain.

Sometimes, barrettes are involved. Other times, it is just scalp torture.

The game ends when Alice declares her work a success, using some positive adjective related to our physical appearance. Beautiful… Lovely… Gorgeous…

Or bird-like?

Alice was doing my hair for a pretend wedding one fine December day when she began to speak in anticipation of the fruits of her labor:

“You’re going to look beautiful! You look like a red booby! You look like a brown booby! You look like a blue-footed booby!”

The resemblance, dear readers, is uncanny.

About The Mamahttp://kidlingville.comProfessional talker, editor, emailer, problem solver, adjunct lecturer, blogger, and mother to the brilliantly absurd Kidling.

8 thoughts on “beauty shop

  1. Ohhh, Alice is a child after my own heart. I, too, loved the whole “beauty shop” experience when I was a kid, but I worked on *myself*. My mother had one of those ‘bonnet’ hair dryers, and I would pop that puppy on my head and sit for *hours* with it running. Nothing is more stylish than a brittle plastic bag draped over one’s head and attached to a large device (covered with faux alligator I might add) via a thick, plastic tube, I can assure you….. The photos taken during that period have subsequently haunted me, providing delicious fodder for family gatherings when we play games of “remember when.” 😉

  2. Take heart. My little one did the same to me and used the little hair clips with millions in my head. My husband inevitably would walk in the room and say “your not going to bed like that are you?” She was ok putting them in but had me screaming and in tears pulling them out…. Check out my site. She’s now 14 and the master of doing the waterfall braid…
    It’s a photo on one of my days blog http://www.kodiakmylittlegrizzly.com

whaddaya have to say for yourself?

