when you wish upon a wookie

We traveled to a nearby town this weekend to attend my dear friend’s marriage party. Not a wedding, rather, a party to celebrate the previous day’s nuptials. It was perfect and we had a perfectly fabulous time (notwithstanding The Kidling losing her voice from all of the revelry. She whispered all day Sunday. It was painfully sad. And cute).

We were sitting at the Panera across from our hotel eating muffins and scones when Alice initiated this conversation in a scratchy whisper:

Alice: I wish something was better in my life.

The Mama: What?

Alice: I wish you two were better.

The Mama: Which two? Mom and Dad?

Alice: Yes. I wish you two were better and nicer.

Pardon me while I interrupt. You really should have seen the other diners’ bodies noticeably still as they stopped everything to hear what The Kidling would say next. Seriously. I would have laughed out loud had I not myself been experiencing that same phenomenon.

The Mama: (hidingย my shock) Oh? How?

Alice: I wish you said “wookie” better. Everything else can stay the same.

Exhale. Thank goodness. I think I can manage a bit of work on my diction.

 

About The Mamahttp://kidlingville.comProfessional talker, editor, emailer, problem solver, adjunct lecturer, blogger, and mother to the brilliantly absurd Kidling.

19 thoughts on “when you wish upon a wookie

      • My mother likes to regale me with the story of when I was out to eat with my grandparents and finished a little {ahem} ahead of the group. I announced, calmly and quite reasonably apparently, that I had completed my meal. When told that, unfortunately, others were still enjoying their repast and I would have to “sit a spell,” I (reportedly) started banging my knife and fork on my high chair tray with great gusto and shouting for ALL the patrons of the establishment to hear (and hopefully comprehend) “Damnit, I’m done!”. Reports say that it did the trick…. Children do have a way of making their wishes known…. ๐Ÿ˜‰

    • Ha! I finally figured out that she wants me to pronounce it with an R (after an amusing exchange where I tried every conceivable pronunciation and she got ticked at me for being wrong). So I guess baby baseball players?

whaddaya have to say for yourself?

