The Mama stays in the picture

Perhaps you saw this Huffington Post article, “The Mom Stays in the Picture,” late last week. I thought it was terrific for two reasons. First, Allison Tate tells her story beautifully. Second, I know I should probably be better about doing it myself. If you are a mother or mother-figure, then you should read it and contribute a photo.

I also MIGHT have uploaded this shot to their album.

photo credit: The Stepbrother

Tee hee. Perhaps The Mama shouldn’t have stayed in that particular picture. It is just so over-the-top bad that I sort of love it. Enjoy!

And stay in the picture, dear breeder readers. Seriously. We owe it to ourselves, our partners, our children, and our grandchildren. Even on days we look like this.

About The Mamahttp://kidlingville.comProfessional talker, editor, emailer, problem solver, adjunct lecturer, blogger, and mother to the brilliantly absurd Kidling.

14 thoughts on “The Mama stays in the picture

  1. I loved this article as well, and likewise vowed to get in the pictures more. I was especially touched by her writing about seeing pictures of her own mother and finding her beautiful. This past summer my brother passed away, sop my sister and I spent quite a bit of time going through old family photos. We commented to each other so many times about how our mom looked so young, and happy, and beautiful in those old snapshots. I want those kind of pictures for my own boys to marvel at some day. 🙂

    • Thanks for stopping by, Beth!

      I agree wholeheartedly. In all candor, I think fathers are nearly as guilty as mothers are. We should really all quit worrying about it and just get our faces in front of the camera. Our kids deserve those memories.

      Cheers!

  2. I read the article after my photographer cousin shared it on Facebook. Since my sister-in-law was killed in a car accident several years ago, this has been an important issue for me. My sister-in-law was on 22 when she died, and left behind a young son (not quite 2 at the time). She hated having her picture taken and always hid from the camera. It was a challenge to find photos of her where she wasn’t looking away, or holding up a hand. It breaks my heart that her boy will have so few pictures to remember his mother. I vowed to never do that to my family, and even when I’m feeling like a scruffy, saggy, bloated mess, I will still smile for the camera anytime my kids ask me to.

  3. My mother died when I was young and my sister left behind a child even younger than I had been. I know how important those pictures are and there are many really bad pictures of me with the kids to prove it.

whaddaya have to say for yourself?

