on mindfulness

Sometimes Alice surprises me.

Fine, she always surprises me, but occasionally she surprises me by surprising me in a different manner than the manner in which I am usually surprised.

Don’t you wish I had left it at that first nearly correct statement? Sometimes accuracy puts a wrinkle in your rhythm, no?

This particular surprise falls into the category of self-awareness. Alice, of course, is the same kidling who doesn’t recognize she has to pee until she is about to wet herself. Imagine my surprise* when she equates physical sensation with its corresponding emotion.

We had just stepped out of a cool morning into a warm car. Alice made a comment on the transition, then settled into her booster seat to ponder. After a long moment of quiet, she informed me, “When my body goes from warm to cold, that means I am scared.”

Whoa, right? Never having heard the term ‘blood-chilling’, she knew precisely the phenomenon. I said something to the effect of “You, Alice Munchkin Kidling, are a genius who will some day end hunger and find cures for all that ails the human body and the human psyche.” Then we moved on.

After telling me a little story about her capacity for love and food, she continued the temperature meme, telling me, “When my body goes from warm to cold, that can also mean that I’m warning myself not to talk so loud.”

An internal volume control system? I think she might be on to something…

___________________________________

* I’m going for the record for the highest rate of “surprise” variations in a single blog post.

Count: 7

Rate: 2.83 percent

Whaddaya think? World record?

About The Mamahttp://kidlingville.comProfessional talker, editor, emailer, problem solver, adjunct lecturer, blogger, and mother to the brilliantly absurd Kidling.

6 thoughts on “on mindfulness

whaddaya have to say for yourself?

