The Kidling goes shopping. again.

You might be noticing a theme this week. The Family honored the American Worker this Labor Day by consuming conspicuously. Okay, so it wasn’t truly conspicuous, but we did run some errands, buy some stuff, and replace our classic 1996 Accord. Fine, so it wasn’t classic: it was old. I loved it regardless.

Which is all to say that The Kidling spent a rather long day shopping with me. As we were leaving our local shopping mecca (otherwise known as a mall), it occurred to me that the little Sigg water bottles we were looking for just might be in the one store we didn’t check. So I asked Alice what she thought about checking out one last store. She considered my proposal before responding…

Okay. One more. We’ve been shopping too long. The sun is going down! We would be shopping all night and into the morning and then we’d be nocturnal and we’d be saying ‘Hi!’ to owls and bats. Are bats real?

After assuring Alice that bats are, in fact, real, I decided her logic seemed sound. We stuck to the one additional store. And you know what? They didn’t have the water bottles.

 

About The Mamahttp://kidlingville.comProfessional talker, editor, emailer, problem solver, adjunct lecturer, blogger, and mother to the brilliantly absurd Kidling.

9 thoughts on “The Kidling goes shopping. again.

  1. I often explain to my kids, after too many stops at too many stores, that we’re doing our job to support the economy. As long as it involves some kind of sugar-filled frozen thingy, that’s alright with them.

      • Laughing – for some reason, I can’t ‘do’ the mall. It’s too over-stimulating for my feeble mind. Which is not to say that I don’t like getting nice things – I do…but I probably do more damage online than I do at the mall! No dilly-dallying – I share Alice’s motto!

whaddaya have to say for yourself?

