on manners

Oh, unconditional love. It is the greatest gift possible for the recipient. On most days, I would tell you, dear readers, that it is the greatest gift for the giver as well.

But not this day.

No, on this day, I am telling you that unconditional love sucks. Why? Because it means you (and by “you,” I mean “I”) have to put up with the shit The Kidling would never make the other people in her life deal with. When I asked about her day, she told me:

“I was nice. I remembered my please word. When I’m bad, I save the bad words for you because other people, they like it when I’m nice!”

Note to self: figure out how to inform The Kidling that I, too, am one of those “other people.”

 

About The Mamahttp://kidlingville.comProfessional talker, editor, emailer, problem solver, adjunct lecturer, blogger, and mother to the brilliantly absurd Kidling.

7 thoughts on “on manners

  1. Note to self – forget about it…there’s some unwritten knowledge that passes from mother to child that absolves them of the required niceness to mom that they routinely show others. And we moms just melt when we’re given ‘lovies’ anyway – and the kidlets know it…

  2. motherhood….i was always the meanest to my mom, and now it breaks my heart thinking about it now that i have kids…

    {made}give. receive. repeat.www.madecommunity.com Date: Tue, 21 Aug 2012 13:15:53 +0000 To: t.ralston@hotmail.com

whaddaya have to say for yourself?

