on canine gestation

The Kidling is fascinated by the back story. Every back story. She wants to know how a thing happened, and then how the thing that made it happen happened. And then how the thing that made the thing that made it happen happened happened.

It can be exhausting.

It can also be positively adorable. Such is the case when she let’s her little munchkin brain go wild and start to transfer what we’ve talked about to other situations.

Like birds. And Great Danes.

We were driving home from daycare one afternoon when out of the blue, Alice declared, “Oh yeah. Great Danes don’t have eggs. They just lay their babies. They don’t get hatched.”

I will never be able to keep up with that child.

About The Mamahttp://kidlingville.comProfessional talker, editor, emailer, problem solver, adjunct lecturer, blogger, and mother to the brilliantly absurd Kidling.

18 thoughts on “on canine gestation

  1. My grandmother would have LOVED Alice. My grandparents had a big farm–cows, pigs, sheep, chickens, yada yada (I grew up in the Midwest)–and something was *always* being born. My grandparents thought it important that I learn about ‘the circle of life,’ so I was always on hand for one or another happening. I remember quite clearly the arrival of a litter of pigs, all of whom I watched enter the world from my position about 6″ from the sow’s behind. I announced to my grandmother with great delight (and no small amount of awe) that each piglet was arriving sealed in its own little plastic bag! I thought that was just so *neat* and showed such foresight on the mama pig’s part! 🙂

  2. Lol..I’m not sure who’s story is better today – Alice’s or Lori’s!! Though I agree with you – this little girl is going to be hard to keep up with! 🙂

  3. We had a neighbor great dane growing up that used to love to “lay” things on our porch. I wish they had been great dane babies.
    And I predict a freshly pressed in Kathy’s near future. Not that I’m a professional predictor or anything. That’s just what I would do if I were running WordPress.

whaddaya have to say for yourself?

