The Kidling on The Parents: a recipe for change (and a chance to be her favorites)

The Kidling likes to remind us who her favorite people are, and “they” are not us. It keeps The Mama and The Dada on our toes. On a recent afternoon she did, however, offer us the opportunity to become her favorite people. It is simple:

“If you looked like Nana and had a face like Nana. And if Dad looked like Papa. And. Had a face like Papa. Then I would love you the most!”

Well, it was kind of her to offer…

_________________________________________

Confidential to Nana: Happy Birthday! We love you. Even if your presence on Earth means The Mama doesn’t get to be The Kidling’s favorite. What? No! No hard feelings. None at all…

About The Mamahttp://kidlingville.comProfessional talker, editor, emailer, problem solver, adjunct lecturer, blogger, and mother to the brilliantly absurd Kidling.

15 thoughts on “The Kidling on The Parents: a recipe for change (and a chance to be her favorites)

  1. I know it’s tough to hear, but I can empathize with The Kidling. I LOVED my maternal grandparents beyond measure. (The fact that they thought I could do NO WRONG didn’t hurt either…. 😉 )

  2. I am so glad you harbor no hard feelings. Really.

    Is there anything better than a grandchild’s love. We don’t think so. Tell our precious girl we can hardly wait to see her Sunday!

    Nana

    • How could I possibly have hard feelings? Alice would be ticked at me.

      I’ll send her your love, but I’m not telling her about the picnic until bedtime Friday, otherwise I will be asked ten thousand times when we are going to see you.

whaddaya have to say for yourself?

