the [other] big question

Do you, dear readers, recall a certain awkward conversation that The Kidling and I had back in May? If not, then please (please!) click that link. Remember that I am not responsible for injury or death due to overzealous laughter. Don’t say I didn’t warn you. Last night I was asked another of those questions. This particular inquisition is one that parents of onlies dread. Whilst getting The Kidling out of the bathtub, I told her a story of a friend’s three daughters:

The Mama: Did you know I have a friend whose kids take their own showers all by themselves? They get in, wash up, and get out all by themselves.

Alice: Oh. (pause) Why does she have kids, not kid?

The Mama: What do you mean? Why does she have lots of kids?

Alice: Yeah. Why does your friend have three kids?

The Mama: Because she chose to have lots of kids. Some people choose to have one kid and other people choose to have more.

Alice: Oh. (pause) How come you chose to just get only one kid out of your belly?

The Mama: Well, we thought we had one great kid so we didn’t need any more. It seemed kind of silly when we already had one who is so great.

Alice: Well, you chose the right kid, because it can do cool things!

Yes we did and yes it she can. The Kidling can be hard to argue with.

About The Mamahttp://kidlingville.comProfessional talker, editor, emailer, problem solver, adjunct lecturer, blogger, and mother to the brilliantly absurd Kidling.

8 thoughts on “the [other] big question

    • I think so, too. 🙂 I can’t imagine what I’d have done if some boring egg had descended my fallopian tube that month. My life would be a dreary place indeed.

whaddaya have to say for yourself?

