Baby Kidling week, day 5

If you’ve stuck with me through Baby Kidling week,* thanks. You’ve made it to day 5, thereby earning each and every one of you the title of Best Reader Ever. Today I offer, The Finale.

February 2010, 25 months old

You know how parents are convinced they understand everything their children say? Especially when “they” have a smart little booger-child with mediocre hearing and quirky pronunciation?

Well, one night just after Alice turned two she kept telling me, “No kiss.” Over and over she said it, “No kiss! No kiss!”

“Fine,” I thought. “I won’t kiss you. I didn’t want to kiss you anyway.”

“No kiss!” Alice repeated vehemently.

Now I’m not going to lie. This was starting to hurt. Why was Baby Kidling insisting I stay far, far away when I was making no move toward an embrace of any sort? ThenΒ  finally, she changed her tune:

“Want dinner!” she yelled, frustrated.

Um, yeah.

No kiss? Nope. She was saying “Want cheese! Want cheese!” Poor girl just needed a snack…

______________________________________________

* Huh? This should catch you up.

About The Mamahttp://kidlingville.comProfessional talker, editor, emailer, problem solver, adjunct lecturer, blogger, and mother to the brilliantly absurd Kidling.

15 thoughts on “Baby Kidling week, day 5

  1. Hm, who would’ve thought no sounds like want and kiss sounds like cheese! I am the worst at understanding baby talk. So I’ve decided I can never have kids just b/c of that. πŸ˜‰ Another funny post.

    • Yeah, it isn’t easy. Trust that it comes eventually. Alice had particularly quirky pronunciation. She still does with some words. It takes forever before kids say everything properly.

  2. I am intensely relieved to learn that parents don’t have some special power that enables them to decipher a child’s speech with flawless accuracy. πŸ™‚ Not feeling nearly as foolish as I once did…. πŸ™‚

    • Nope. When they get bigger and develop consistent speech patterns (even erroneous ones), then parents’ magical speech powers kick in.

      But I guess that is really just practice, not magic. So never mind…

    • Well, it was two years ago, so I don’t really remember. This is why I write things down. πŸ˜‰ Perhaps she was in a big cheese-eating stage? Seriously, though, you should see the archives. It is a jumbo word document. Much of the stuff isn’t that funny to me any longer, simply because Alice is so darned funny now. It does still make me smile every time I dig back into her early talking days.

  3. It took the babysitter explaining it to me before I realized that Sausage is saying “No no no” when he goes “Nanana”. I felt like a big old dumbass.

  4. I’ve so been there. It’s so painful when your child is frustrated because you can’t understand what it is they are trying to say. All of my son’s words sounded the same. you just never knew if he wanted a banana or grandma or his blanket or legal representation.

whaddaya have to say for yourself?

