Baby Kidling week, day 2

As some of you know, it is Baby Kidling week on the book of alice.

Why?! Because I’m your mother, that’s why!

Oh, sorry. I mean… um… let me back up. You see, The Mama got herself a fancy new job, so I decided to write a week of stories about a time when I had only an inkling how ridiculous my child would some day be. It might or might not be designed to ensure I don’t:

  1. Worry about what I am going to write, and then
  2. Rush to my trusty silly-log (aka notebook) for recent entries, before
  3. Noticing how low said silly-log is stocked with quotes, and
  4. Realize it is because she is at pre-school five days a week now, before finally
  5. Bursting into tears.

It is a good plan, isn’t it?

I’m thinking I will stick with late 2009. It should have enough anecdotes to get me through the week, and it will keep you, dear readers, in the same chronological mindset. Isn’t The Mama thoughtful?

So here, also at just a few weeks shy of two years old, The Kidling’s saga continues…

December 2009, 23 months old

Fools that The Dada and I are, we trusted those useless little tabs of god-knows-what (also known as teething tablets) to get Alice through her extraordinarily long and painful teething months. Okay fine. That isn’t true. I trusted the useless tablets and The Dada knew better but didn’t object.

But Alice loved them. Adored them. I am fairly certain she did not love them for their soothing properties, rather, for the fact that they fizzled on her tiny little tongue. Pretty fun.

Well, one day she wanted one and asked for it thus:

Alice: Tablet.

The Mama: Say, “May I have a tablet?”

Alice: May I have two tablets, please?

And we all know what that too-smart-for-her-own-good brain got her: her own blog.

About The Mamahttp://kidlingville.comProfessional talker, editor, emailer, problem solver, adjunct lecturer, blogger, and mother to the brilliantly absurd Kidling.

15 thoughts on “Baby Kidling week, day 2

    • Good question, Mimi. Perhaps we were too smart to give her two wee computers? God knows what The Kidling would do with a computer. She asks for “pbskids.org” by name. “Mommy. Type ‘pbskids dot org'” she says over and over while I am replying to your comments. She would be a public TV game junkie left to her own devices…

whaddaya have to say for yourself?

