this update brought to you by The Mama

The Mama got herself a new job. A real one. That I go to every single day. And I start Monday. I am super excited about this development, but it does mean some changes on the book of alice. Fret not, dear readers. This blog is my baby— er, I mean— this blog is about my baby.

But I do love it an awful lot.

I still plan to post Monday through Friday. I will not, however, be able to engage as quickly with you and your delightful comments. Please know that I appreciate them and I appreciate you. There will just be a bit less back and forth. Which makes me sad, but this is a terrific career opportunity that I simply could not pass up.

Next week will be posts from the archives. I started documenting what Alice says as soon as her vocabulary expanded beyond “Mama,” “Dada,” and “Uh Oh!” And, as you probably know, I’ve only been blogging for a few months. There is a lot of stuff from her wee years. I hope you like it.

Love and gratitude to you all.

Christine

About The Mamahttp://kidlingville.comProfessional talker, editor, emailer, problem solver, adjunct lecturer, blogger, and mother to the brilliantly absurd Kidling.

29 thoughts on “this update brought to you by The Mama

  1. The Mama,
    Good luck on your first week. And your updates on Facebook did make me giggle. Stupid funny people…
    Le Clown

  2. Yeah, woo hoo, doin’ the happy dance that I learned this morning on David’s blog. 🙂 That’s terrific, Christine. LOVE IT when good things happen to good people. Will look forward to hearing from you whenever you’re able….

    • Thanks! Although I will miss Alice terribly (horribly, awfully, wretchedly), I am really excited about doing this work. I have wanted to do this for a long time.

      Cheers!

  3. Congratulations on the job! I am impressed by anyone who can manage to blog, raise a child AND do additional work. I can barely manage the first two and bathing (today for example, was not a success). My hat is off to you (but I have to put it right back on because my hair isn’t washed, no offense).

  4. I have been reading your blog for some time, but never commented. Now I just have to tell you how much I enjoy your writing. The kidling is special, but obviously know that. Keep writing and good luck in your new job!

  5. Pingback: Baby Kidling week, day 1 « the book of alice

  6. If I didn’t know that the above photo of Alice was taken some time ago, I’d think it was taken the day she found out that The Mama would be working five days a week and The Kidling would be in preschool. That’ll last about a week and then she’ll be loving it and you’ll be loving your job and I’ll be the one with no one to talk to in the afternoons. Sob. But seriously, I’m really happy for you. Sniff. Sniff.

  7. Pingback: Baby Kidling week, day 2 « the book of alice

  8. Pingback: Baby Kidling week, day 3 « the book of alice

whaddaya have to say for yourself?

