kids suck. not my kid. other kids. they suck.

When I picked The Kidling up from daycare last night, I strapped her into her booster seat, put my seatbelt on, and sped off into the sunset carefully crept around the blind corner at the bottom of the hill. As always, I asked her about her day:

  1. Tell me about your day.
  2. Did you have fun?
  3. What did you do?
  4. What books did you read?
  5. Did you play outside?
  6. What did you eat for lunch?
  7. Have you signed up for your SAT yet?

The Kidling’s typical response varies little:

  1. (silence)
  2. Yes.
  3. Played.
  4. I didn’t read. I just looked at pictures.
  5. Uh huh, but not much (even when she spent the entire day outside).
  6. I don’t remember.
  7. Mo-om. I’m only four.*

But yesterday was different. I got this sad monologue:

“Nobody played with me. Even when I asked 18 or 15 times. They don’t play with me, they say, ‘La la la la I can’t hear you.’ And you know what? Somebody punched me. John punched me. No wait. He shoved me. John shoved me and he hit me. It kind of breaks my heart when kids do that stuff to me.”

Hey John. You suck.

_________________________________

* Notice that last one isn’t blue? That’s how you know I am just making shit up. I would never blaspheme the blue type.

About The Mamahttp://kidlingville.comProfessional talker, editor, emailer, problem solver, adjunct lecturer, blogger, and mother to the brilliantly absurd Kidling.

36 thoughts on “kids suck. not my kid. other kids. they suck.

  1. Awwww…John,why? Her response broke my heart…even adults don’t like to be treated like that. If it’s any consolation, one of the girls also has an issue with a John in her day care…

    • It breaks my heart, too.

      Sorry your dear one is getting beat up on. It sucks, doesn’t it?

      I do wonder if Alice might not simply forget to tell me about the days she is the one doing the hitting. I try to be honest with myself about the way she presents things to me. Not that it much matters. It still breaks my heart. 😦

      • Yes same with me. MS teacher said once that my girl bit another boy, i had her call the boy and his mom to apologize…
        I try to as well knowing that Jordan who reports all the pushing by John can be quite aggressive when she is not getting her way with her sister. But i am sure there are times she didn’t provoke anything.

        • Good for you for teaching her accountability for her actions. Brava.

          Yes, there are absolutely times when they just get beat on without provocation. That’s when it breaks our hearts, isn’t it. I guess this is what childhood is about. It still, well… sucks.

  2. Kids do suck. If that happened among adults, she could have him arrested for assault. Sorry, but I have very strong opinions about bullies, bullying, and the adults who allow it to happen. Love to you and the Kidling.

  3. Ok, well *that* was just gut-wrenching to read, *especially* that last line!! Damn, but kids can be cruel. Ahh, well, the Kidling can take solace in the fact that she’s already light years ahead of these little miscreants in her development. And I’m gonna bet that *none* of them have the size of fan club that Alice does!!! 🙂

    • I know, Lori. As she was recounting her day, my heart kept sinking and sinking. When she told me it broke her heart, I nearly started to cry. I was barely able to hold it together to talk to her about how it made her feel, what she did, what she should do, and whether she should think twice before doing it to other kids.

      Damn, parenting is hard…

      • I can only imagine how you must have felt–gave me a lump in my throat. But you’re obviously doin’ a bang-up job, Christine. For her to be able to articulate her feelings so succinctly is just incredible. Such a cool, cool, kid, and a rockin’ Mama….:-)

    • Yes, please. No hits on four-year-old kids. Not even ones that suck. And his name isn’t even John. You probably knew that. Some poor kid named John is going to be in time out for the rest of his life and have no idea what hit him!

  4. Ok, where were the grown ups and why isn’t John in trouble for being such a shit? It kills me when children hurt each other, and I get super angry when Alice is the recipient of any pain at all (if she pushes someone I’m sure she has good reason). And I know that today will be a better day. But if you want me to hunt down John, just let me know.

  5. That’s a bummer. We went through this with MM. He was getting picked on in school and the teachers weren’t doing anything to help him. There was a kid one day who through his backpack on the ground (with his lunch in it) and jumped up and done on it. He was getting bullied quite a bit. I don’t understand where kids learn to be so mean.

    • Neither do I. My guess is they are good kids who are just experimenting with deviant behavior. That’s what I tell myself when Alice isn’t on her best behavior, at least. 🙂

  6. The magic of the blue font. Well played. We have encountered this a few times and it really does suck. I wish I had some wise parenting advice to bestow upon you in the situation but I got squat. I don’t even really remember what we told her. I probably just said something like rub some dirt on it and get back in there.

  7. Stopped by and couldn’t help but comment because I wanted to give your little one a cyber hug.Have grandkids tha have been bullied and wanted to go to the school and give some old fashioned discipline,but instead that night we asked God to the bullies a guilty conscience and liver and onions for supper.Cute blog!

  8. I hate Johns. Although, most Johns have a John of their own at home. So really, I hate John’s John, who probably had a John of HIS own. We need more Alices, with Christines at home. Then we’d be cookin’ with gas.

  9. 😦 I haven’t had this experience with my son yet as he is still so young, but when it happens I can only begin to imagine how awful I’m going to feel about the whole thing on his behalf. Sorry to both of you. May tomorrow be much, much better.

  10. They do suck! I understand that we all occasionally suck from time to time, but does it have to be a suckage that breaks the small hearts of our dear ones? Because it makes me a wee bit homicidal. Wee bit.

whaddaya have to say for yourself?

