left field

Wednesday was a beautiful, hot Iowa day. Like any good mother, I planned to spend the day swimming  at the park  at the Natural History Museum  gardening  doing art projects in the air conditioning standing in line for a membership at the Costco that opened that very morning. What? What did you think, I was going to be selfless? Sorry to disappoint. Costco is serious business.

As I hadn’t yet gotten to was saying…

We were driving down the road and chatting away. I stopped to get a cup of good coffee for myself and some juice for The Kidling. We pulled back into traffic and continued toward Costco, chatting away. Did I mention Costco just opened? Yay! While talking about where we were heading and what our plans for the rest of the day were, Alice offered this response:

“Luckily anesthesia didn’t make me puke.”

Hey, that’s exactly what I was thinking! And by “exactly” I mean in no way related to anything even remotely close to what I was thinking.

About The Mamahttp://kidlingville.comProfessional talker, editor, emailer, problem solver, adjunct lecturer, blogger, and mother to the brilliantly absurd Kidling.

10 thoughts on “left field

    • Nope. She was referring to the anesthesia she had before a procedure in November. It smelled awful, and she mentions it now and then when she smells something rotten. This day, though, there was nothing stinky or foul to remind her of it. who know why she was thinking about it. Perhaps she had a tickle in her ear, which reminded her?

whaddaya have to say for yourself?

