bashful isn’t just a smurf

It may surprise some of you to learn that The Kidling can be quite shy. She vacillates between the gregarious little imp who smiles and shouts greetings to passersby and a bashful little girl who hides behind The Mama or The Dada while crying out that she doesn’t want anyone to look at her.

Given that The Mama is a talker, Alice and I were… well… talking about these episodes of extreme shyness (The Mama can talk any topic to death. Just ask The Dada). I asked about her feelings: when she feels shy vs. when she feels friendly, whether anything triggers each feeling, whether there are certain people who make her feel one way or the other…

See? Talking. To death.

Alice was thoughtful and answered my questions with surprising detail. She concluded that she shies from, “Regular persons. But regular persons such as fire mans, police officers, garbage truck guys, recycling persons, and even, um, people with their dogs—those are the persons I’m not shy of.”

And you know what? It makes perfect sense.

I am glad I asked.

About The Mamahttp://kidlingville.comProfessional talker, editor, emailer, problem solver, adjunct lecturer, blogger, and mother to the brilliantly absurd Kidling.

23 thoughts on “bashful isn’t just a smurf

      • Ah, it’s all a ruse…Everyone thinks I’m the outgoing one. I love people really, but I hold back a lot. My husband is really far more confident and open than me. I will ‘take care’ of the world – happily, but I’m often accused of hiding behind that so I can avoid the focus being on me…there’s an admission I don’t often make.

          • I hope so – tho’ I can understand why sometimes it can be a difficult wall to climb with my loved ones who perpetually try to turn the tables on me, and I keep reversing their efforts!! hugs and hugs, m

    • Yes! Alice thinks people cannot see her, too! If she just stands behind me, she is convinced no one can see her. She will even smugly declare “no one knew I was here!” if we leave an establishment without anyone speaking to her. Crazy kiddos.

  1. Pingback: the baby monitor, or how the baby monitors our conversation « the book of alice

whaddaya have to say for yourself?

