tell it to your brain

The Kidling has sassy pants. Very, very sassy pants. Whilst wearing the pants of sass, she speaks with sass. Large, heaping servings of sass.

She also has crabby pants, but we try to ensure those are dirty so that she cannot ever wear them.

We were talking recently about the importance of being a good host to her friends. Sharing, allowing them to choose activities, taking turns with toys… The Kidling is an only kidling, so we have to go over these things. A lot. I frequently invoke a favorite Dr. Seuss character, Thidwick the Big-Hearted Moose.

Sweet Thidwick, the ultimate sucker. Er, I mean nice guy. The ultimate nice guy.
image source: http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Thidwick_the_Big-Hearted_Moose

If you don’t know the story, Thidwick offers his horns to a bug asking to bum a ride, then things get out of hand. His mantra throughout the story is “A host has to put up with all kinds of pests. For a host, above all, must be nice to his guests.”

Now, I am not looking to teach The Kidling to be a doormat, but this is a lesson she could stand to hear a few thousand times. So, on that fine day when we were preparing to have a play date, I quoted the good doctor:

The Mama: You’ve been doing such a good job sharing lately, Alice. Just remember a host, above all, must be nice to his guests.

The Alice: Don’t tell it to me. I already know that. Just tell it in your brain, then!

Did someone gift The Kidling with a special pair of sassy crabby pants? I need to go digging for a gift receipt…

About The Mamahttp://kidlingville.comProfessional talker, editor, emailer, problem solver, adjunct lecturer, blogger, and mother to the brilliantly absurd Kidling.

16 thoughts on “tell it to your brain

  1. Ohhhh little Alice – even when she’s having a moment, it’s funny (I know, not to her mama but to me)…Perhaps those pants are the kind you only wear once and then need to throw away? Or not… 🙂

  2. When I repeat myself for what must be the hundredth time Carter will say “I know momma, why do you keep saying that?!?” Ah, the life of a broken record momma. I am surprised I have not heard of Thidwick – I will have too check it out.

  3. When our little one was 3 she told us how at pre-school recess a little girl said she saw a snake and everyone went crazy running to the fence. We asked what she did and she said “people were going crazy, I was like what the hell is going on?” jarred out of our semi paying attention he mom asked if that is what she said? She said “no mom, I didn’t say it, that is what I was saying in my brain. What the hell is going on?”

    great post!

    • Oh god, Simon. I hope you weren’t at the dinner table. I would have most certainly shot whatever I was drinking out of my nose and/or choked to death on my food. At least I would have died happy.

      Cheers!

  4. Hilarious. Reminds me of a recent encounter with my cousin who proceeded to complain that she remembered me refusing to share my Barbies on one occasion when she was visiting. When I was six. Really? You’ve known me for 43 years and this is the only story you’ve got to tell my Hubby about me growing up. This has been festering inside of you all this time? Thank goodness you’re saving Alice from this kind of crap when she’s middle-aged.

whaddaya have to say for yourself?

