changing your story

Like most children, The Kidling tries her darndest to stay awake for just a little bit longer. Excuses, requests, and complaints abound:

But I’m huuuuuuungry!

It’s too dark. I am scared!

It’s too light. I can’t sleep when it’s light!

I tried, but I just can’t sleep!

Where’s my soft blanket?

Where’s dalmatian?

Can I get another buddy?

I need a drink of water.

But I didn’t get my hug and kiss and smooch and mooch!

The list goes on, and on, and on (and on). Monday night I heard a new one. And I liked it.

Alice: I can’t go to sleep on rainy nights!

The Mama: (softly, and barely suppressing a laugh) It isn’t raining, Sweetie.

Alice: I mean, I can’t go to sleep on not rainy nights.

Yeah, nice try. Back to bed. Little booger…

About The Mamahttp://kidlingville.comProfessional talker, editor, emailer, problem solver, adjunct lecturer, blogger, and mother to the brilliantly absurd Kidling.

15 thoughts on “changing your story

  1. Yep, she’s gonna be a lawyer. She’s already putting alternative defenses out there.

    P.S. You’re not showing up in my reader AGAIN. I’m going to send wordpress ANOTHER email. Did my post from yesterday show up in yours?

whaddaya have to say for yourself?

