on death and life and planning ahead

The Family’s tiny yard is fairly heavily planted: shrubs, flowers, vegetables, and trees crowd our little piece of ground. Now that I have gotten over the fear of our garden, I can honestly say that I would have it no other way.You have all probably caught on by this point that The Kidling is no fool. That said, she does occasionally require a reminder of which things in the yard are consumable (raspberries, arugula) and which are not (basically everything else).

Last week, Alice was picking the berries from one of our shrubs. I think it was a honeysuckle, but the truth is once the flowers are spent, I don’t remember what is what. When I admonished her to keep her mitts off the berries, she gave me “the look.” “The look” says, ‘Duh Mom. What, do you think I’m three? I know better than to eat these berries. Sheesh!” Upon translating the look into the previous sentence, I decided more detail was required.

“But Alice, they could make Margot* sick,” I reminded her. She thought for approximately 0.7 seconds before responding, “We’ll just let her throw it up, and then we’ll clean the puke up, okay?”

Ummmm, no. No it is not okay.

So I went the next logical step. I scared the bejeezers out of her. Or, should I say, I tried: “Alice, if those berries are poisonous, then Margot might die.” I congratulated myself on successful execution of the exaggeration-for-the-purpose-of-compliance move and thought we were done.

Nope.

After thinking for three seconds, The Kidling responded, “Well, that’s okay because… if she does we’ll just… put her where Esti** is.”

“Sweetie,” I replied, “let’s just not pick the berries so we can be certain Margot doesn’t eat them and die.”

Ever the planner, Alice declared, “Well, let’s just hope she’ll never be dead, but if she does, we’ll just do that. Okay?”

Sigh. Okay.

___________________________________________________

* Margot is this adorable dog:

Peek-a-pup, aka Margot.

** Esti is this beautiful girl, who passed away last year after 10 ridiculously silly years:

Holy adorable. What else is there to say, really?

About The Mamahttp://kidlingville.comProfessional talker, editor, emailer, problem solver, adjunct lecturer, blogger, and mother to the brilliantly absurd Kidling.

9 thoughts on “on death and life and planning ahead

        • Twelve pounds? What is he? Shih Tzu? My girls are Cavalier King Charles Spaniels (which is long for “cute little spaniels”). At around 16 pounds, they look like puppies forever. And I love that.

          • He’s a mutt – the vet says his mom was a slut – she was probably a toy poodle, the dad perhaps a maltese – but we’re not sure. My other one is 3 and he’s a Goldendoodle – but a small one – about 45 lbs, and still all baby…

            • You’ve got to love a good mutt, don’t you? Poodles are so wickedly smart. I don’t know if I would be up for a dog that kept me on my toes to that extent!

              • Oh no – we are known for having absolutely lovable and adorable dogs who are really not smart at all. There are definitely no poodle genes apparent in their brains – either one.. 🙂 I am desperate for a Cavalier King Charles though – but husband draws a firm line at two…

                • Well, for what it is worth, Cavaliers really are amazing dogs. Docile and loving, furry and adorable… Esti was rescued from a puppy mill when we lived in San Diego and after a couple of months, we thought she needed a buddy.They did magically transform into dogs when Alice was born, as they had previously been more like children. Alas, everyone involved was okay with the transition.

                  Oh, dogs. Such love and not a word exchanged. Amazing, no?

                  • It really is – I can’t picture my life without them (as I write this, Teddy is sleeping next to me on the chair and Archie is sleeping on my foot). I love these guys..

whaddaya have to say for yourself?

