on mindfulness and moonshine

Over Labor Day weekend, The Family took an amazing Sunday morning canoe picnic on a nearby lake. We woke up, picked up too many doughnuts to confess to, hauled our canoe out to the lake and indulged in 150 minutes of serenity. It was a day for the record books: sunshine, perfect weather, quiet morning fishing boat traffic, and The Family. And doughnuts. Don’t forget the (obscene quantity of) doughnuts.

Now stay with me for a minute here.

I challenge anyone eating fresh raspberries and beholding that gorgeous Baby Kidling face to be anything but happy.

As a mother and as a human being, I try to practice mindfulness. When I am successful, I am a better worker, a better wife, a better mother, and a better person. I also try to instill this in The Kidling by commenting on the sensations we feel. I, perhaps misguidedly, focus on the positive: the smell of flowers in the air, the warmth of the sunshine, the sound of birds singing, the feel of soft lambs ear, the taste of a sun-ripened raspberry…

On this particular day, there were too many good things from which to choose. Alas, I did choose. The glorious sunshine won. Commenting aloud to Alice, I sighed, “I love the sunshine.”

I wish I could tell you that Alice returned my sigh, or nodded in agreement, or declared her own wonderment of the world in which we are blessed to live. No, this is The Kidling we are talking about here. When I made my heartfelt observation about the glory of the universe, Alice huffed and declared, “Well I love moonshine!”

The Mama has nothing to say.

About The Mamahttp://kidlingville.comProfessional talker, editor, emailer, problem solver, adjunct lecturer, blogger, and mother to the brilliantly absurd Kidling.

26 thoughts on “on mindfulness and moonshine

  1. Well with moonshine, the jug can also be an instrument, so that’s a plus. Also, it costs significantly less than a fine single malt scotch, which in this economy is certainly something to take into consideration.

  2. That’s awesome, had my daughter been there she might have held her hand up for a high five and said “up top” (her newest line that keeps us cracking up). Great stuff.

    • Yeah, Simon, that’s just what I need: another munchkin to cheer her on. And hey, thanks for stopping by. You should probably come back again.

      Cheers to you (and your munchkin)!

  3. Kathy V. is right. Alice is a little bit the contrarian, isn’t she? Either that or she’s got a still set up behind your pretty garden. Hey, nothing wrong with a child contributing to her college fund.

  4. And then you both whipped out dueling banjos. Her love of moonshine fits in that circumstance too, though I’m pretty sure she wasn’t talking about the distilled beverage.

whaddaya have to say for yourself?

