*this* much

“I love you so much that I am going to swing you wildly into the air and hope that those squeals represent joy, rather than abject terror.” Okay, so maybe that isn’t an exact quote…

We recently read Guess How Much I Love You—a sweet story about a young rabbit and his father—for the first time in a very long time. As such, The Kidling has been in a contest with herself to make the biggest “I love you” statement possible. This has included inquiries of the relative distance from Earth of the sun and our moon, questions about what exactly a galaxy is, and a lot of statements that end in “… and back.” It is charming, if exhausting.

Thursday morning’s stretch, however, was my favorite:

“I love you to all of the dirt in our city. And in the trees? How much is that? And around the moon and in the stars and around the street. I love you that much. I love you both that much. How cool is that?!”

Honestly Alice, I can think of nothing cooler.

___________________________________________________

* The former-almost-lawyer in me wants you to know this sweet (if dangerous) image came from this blog that a student named Janet made for a class on children’s literature. Hrumph. I wish I had taken a class on children’s literature. Also, I’m going to take a wild guess and say that the copyright belongs to Anita Jeram. Dontchathink?

About The Mamahttp://kidlingville.comProfessional talker, editor, emailer, problem solver, adjunct lecturer, blogger, and mother to the brilliantly absurd Kidling.

25 thoughts on “*this* much

  1. As much as dirt? I wish that I could convey affection with that one, because I really, really love dirt. But I may have exceeded the age limit for use of this one. Still, I might try it.

    • Not just dirt, peachyteachy: ALL the dirt. Lucky me!

      I don’t believe there is an age limit for expressing your love creatively. If there is, then I don’t want to know about it.

      Cheers!

  2. That certainly is very cool! This kid melts my heart!

    My husband told our two year-old the other day: “Baby boy, I love you as much as mama loves cake.” ….Well, that’s a lot. 🙂

  3. I love that book. My husband snickers every time I read ‘nutbrown’ hare, however….we are both so adolescent in our humor that it tends to detract from the beautiful message.

    • Yeah, it can be hard to be an adult sometimes, can’t it?! Good for you and your husband for retaining some of that juvenile joy. I think it is good for the soul.

      Cheers!

  4. This was always *the* favorite read when my kid was little. He’s 14 now. Thanks for putting a huge smile on my face this morning (and, maybe bringing a slight mom-tear to my eye). 🙂

    • Oh, Shannon, I know. I think about that every now and then, and try to keep my emotions under control. Here’s hoping she doesn’t just replace it with “I hate you.” If so, then I will consider it a success.

  5. Pingback: I Love You To China « Fathead Follies

whaddaya have to say for yourself?

