‘picy!

For all of her brilliance, there is one thing The Kidling does not do: pronounce her initial “s”s. When she slows down, she gets them, but she is too excited in her every day speech to make the time to pronounce every consonant.* I can’t say I blame her. Most folks understand most of what The Kidling has to say, but this “s” omission does make for some charming statements. Such as:

“I ‘potted it! I ‘pied it with my keen eyes!” when she sees something for which we’ve been searching.

“Ewww. What is that ‘tinky ‘mell?” upon sniffing an unpleasant odor.

“I want to try the ‘cooter!” when taking turns with her cousin’s Razor.

“Aaaaaaaaaaaahhhhhhhhhhhh! ‘PIDER!” when she sees a spider.

and my personal favorite:

“It ‘piced me! It ‘piced my taste buds!” after taking a particularly pungent bite of her dinner.

_________________________________________________________

* Yes, she has been assessed by a ‘peech therapist, and we are cool.

About The Mamahttp://kidlingville.comProfessional talker, editor, emailer, problem solver, adjunct lecturer, blogger, and mother to the brilliantly absurd Kidling.

10 thoughts on “‘picy!

  1. My eldest couldn’t pronounce his ‘h’s’ and my second had a lithp…I’d say she’s more than cool with a tremendous vocabulary…The ‘s’ will come..

    • No, Kathy. Then YOU had better watch out. Seriously. Have you read my post “Science”? Alice wasn’t even two yet. That sh*t gets really crazy, really quickly. But it is pretty fabulous, too. 😉

  2. I can’t tell you how much I miss my daughter’s mispronunciations. My heart broke when she stopped saying “I nung you.” I also miss sitting on our “bitches” (because I have a juvenile sense of humor.) I’m trying to enjoy my son’s while he still has them.

    • I also have a juvenile sense of humor now and then (hence my amusement at Alice’s pronunciation of “scooter”). I nung your little girl, too. So sweet.

  3. Pingback: 60 seconds in the life of The Kidling « the book of alice

whaddaya have to say for yourself?

