homemade

Ever hear your kid use a word and wonder whether they really understood what it meant? The Kidling asked for a PB&J the other day and insisted, I want some of Grandma’s homemade jam.” I, of course, complied. Then I wondered if she had put two and two together, so I asked, “Alice, do you know what homemade means?” She replied, “Yeah. It means really good. And yummy.”

Close enough.

About The Mamahttp://kidlingville.comProfessional talker, editor, emailer, problem solver, adjunct lecturer, blogger, and mother to the brilliantly absurd Kidling.

8 thoughts on “homemade

    • I think Grandma would be pleased, Mimi. Alice also told her other grandma that it was made with “just a little bit of sugar.” From the taste of it, that jam was made with a lotta bit of sugar!

  1. Since my kids have started talking(it just happened one day, and they haven’t friggin’ stopped since!) “close enough” is something I declare quite regularly, whether pertaining to their definition of a particular word, cleaning their toys, or finishing their supper(this one is more to do with Saarah than Tevye, though).

    • ABSOLUTELY, Moishe. Can you imagine how crazy we would be if we didn’t call everything “close enough”? I bet I would lose my mind before the weekend.

whaddaya have to say for yourself?

