lessons from an ordinary thursday

Oh, Thursday. For whatever reason, it was a day perfectly suited to teaching me lessons. And I was listening. Here, in no particular order, I present to you the top four lessons of yesterday afternoon and evening:

  1. The Kidling knows best. So does The Dada. The Mama, on the other hand… When The Dada tells me it is going to rain, I should probably ask for more details. Just a sprinkle? Or a heavy rain? Or perhaps forty days and forty nights’ worth in just a few hours? Then I should utilize his response to make an informed decision regarding whether or not to plant my vegetable garden. Especially the tiny seeds. Damn you, arugula! Must you be so small? Also, why didn’t I take Alice’s “throw caution to the wind” approach to planting seeds? The result would have been the same regardless: seeds randomly strewn about, growing in a manner far more realistic than the perfect rows in which they were planted. For an hour. Then the universe decided to remind me not to be so Type A. Duly noted, universe. Thanks for the memo.
  2. Outdated flood maps might not be quite as outdated as The Mama thought. No big deal, but we got just enough water in our basement to remind me to stop my kvetching when it comes time to pay the premium (Confidential to my readers: I know this has nothing to do with The Kidling. That said, I firmly believe one should never pass up an opportunity to say “kvetch.” So stop your kvetching.)
  3. Ferocious thunderstorms have no impact on The Kidling’s sleep. Zero. Zilch. Squat. The same child who is terrified at the tiniest rumble when awake can sleep through a house-shaking thunderstorm. Go figure.
  4. The Kidling will be falling out of her big girl bed quite frequently. I don’t believe that requires explanation. Poor girl.
About The Mamahttp://kidlingville.comProfessional talker, editor, emailer, problem solver, adjunct lecturer, blogger, and mother to the brilliantly absurd Kidling.

14 thoughts on “lessons from an ordinary thursday

  1. As a lover of the Yiddish language, I wholeheartedly agree that the word “kvetch” is tremendous. There’s a great book, all about Yiddish words and expressions entitled “Born to Kvetch”, and I highly recommend it. If nothing else, the photo on the front cover is hilarious.

    • My yiddish vocabularly includes exactly three words: kvetch, mentsch, and tchotchke. Oh, and latke. Make that four. These are such fabulous words that I do wish I had more to sprinkle in my sentences.

      Cheers, Moishe!

  2. As one genetically blessed with a larger-than-generally-desired nose I really enjoy the word schnaz… Ughh, but just after typing it I googled it to make sure I had the spelling right and according to the Urban Dictionary it seems it is used for other body parts as well. So maybe I’ll stop using it now.

    Sorry about the tumbling out of bed. :- (

    • Oh, good one! I would have spelled it schnoz. Hmm. Urban Dictionary’s top definition is: “A humungoid nose that pretrudes profusely from the face.” I think I like “humungoid.” Now, be sure to be clear whether you are saying a humungoid schnoz or schnoz. 😉

    • Ohhhh, shenanigans is a good word, yiddish or not.

      Now, oh childless one, let me enlighten you on the bed. Kids go from crib (aka prison) to toddler bed (minimum security) to plain-old bed. That means no rail to keep their wiggly, dreaming-about-cupcakes-and-playgrounds bodies contained. And they fall out. Ker-plop. Didn’t you ever fall out of bed as a kid? You weren’t always an adult, were you? Were you?

whaddaya have to say for yourself?

