a revelation from The Mama

I rarely (fine, never) post about The Mama, but I can’t help myself.

It might surprise you, dear readers, to learn that it just occurred to me a few moments ago that the book of alice is a very long, very public, very ridiculous love letter to The Kidling.

So hey, Future Kidling. Yeah, I’m talking to you. Even though The Mama makes more than her fair share of mistakes, know that I am trying my damnedest to do right by you.

And now I’m crying. Sheesh, Christine. Go get some work done.

About The Mamahttp://kidlingville.comProfessional talker, editor, emailer, problem solver, adjunct lecturer, blogger, and mother to the brilliantly absurd Kidling.

6 thoughts on “a revelation from The Mama

    • Thanks, Mimi. You are so kind and supportive.

      Believe it or not, a comment you made on a post yesterday, combined with a conversation I had a few weeks ago with a dear friend, prompted this clarity. That’s all I need: yoga and blogging.

      Cheers, Mimi, and thanks for your always kind words.

  1. A few weeks ago over lunch, a dear friend and I were talking about parenting over lunch. She mentioned this passage from a book she had read. It really shook me to my core, most likely because it rings so true to me.

    “When I think about why people have children, I realize how little it should have to do with the future. If, before any children are conceived, we knew that our reward for raising them would be perhaps several phone calls a month, a very occasional visit, and the sense of having once been important in their lives, we might not do it. But if we realize that the rewards are given during the raising, we will calculate the cost differently. My children have taught me more than I have taught them, given me more joy than I have given them, and their not being present or even much aware of me now does not alter this.”
    -Phyllis Theroux, The Journal Keeper: A Memoir

whaddaya have to say for yourself?

