The Mama looks like…

Alice likes to point out folks she thinks look like me on the interwebs, in catalogues, and while we are out and about. I have no idea why, but it is pretty stinking funny. The comparisons range from wildly flattering to very, very (very) humbling. Such is life with a candid and observant four-year old.

Now, I have few and loyal readers. I have even fewer and loyal-er commenters. So when I had my WordPress dashboard open yesterday, I was not surprised to hear Alice declare, “Hey, that looks like you” when she glanced at the column of recent comments.

“It does!?!” I replied. I never know what to expect from The Kidling, but this observation came as a surprise.

“Um, no. It looks like… a man that I don’t know.”

And indeed, it was. The man? None other than Le Clown. The image? This one:

Photo

Le Clown on Fire? The Mama? Who knows!

Photo

The Real Mama.

I think Alice might need to have her eyes checked.

About The Mamahttp://kidlingville.comProfessional talker, editor, emailer, problem solver, adjunct lecturer, blogger, and mother to the brilliantly absurd Kidling.

18 thoughts on “The Mama looks like…

    • Isn’t she, though? Thanks. I wish I had thought to start gathering images of folks she considers similar in appearance to The Mama. I’m not quite sure what folks on the street would think of my covertly snapping their pictures, but it would make for a hilarious album.

      Cheers!

  1. Love your blog, ridiculously funny and cute – kids are so precious with their remarks on how they see the world, thank you for sharing the kidling’s views with us!

  2. Christine
    We we can all agree… There are some resemblance… We both look magnificent. Alice knows that.
    Le Clown

    • Indeed.

      I actually look more like this fiery-eyed picture of you than I do most folks to which she compares me… ranging from other moms at her daycare 15 years older than me with blond hair (and the same camel wool winter coat) to a model or two (both male and female from a GAP campaign last year) to anyone of any gender with a similar haircut. It makes me smile.

    • Um, I love this. Alice can be wickedly candid with my appearance. She has commented on my big bottom (true), my crazy hair (true), the lines on my mouth (wrinkles. true), the lines in my eyes (bloodshot. true)…the list goes on and on. And, oddly, it opnly amuses me. Cheers to the beautiful, honest kids in our lives!

  3. This made me laugh, I can’t see a resemblance! I find children do the funniest things, I find they either really like me or hate me, they smile or cry no middle ground! I look forward to more installments of who else Mama looks like! x

    • I’m so glad you got a good chuckle out of it. I actually see the teeniest, tiniest resemblance. I only wish I could learn that trick with the irises…

      Cheers!

  4. I shared you blog with my older sisters who are both rasiing little girls who remind me of Alice! For the record I don’t think you like a man with fire in his eyes, but the comparison is rather humerous. I love to hear all of the funny things that kids think outloud!

whaddaya have to say for yourself?

