the half kid

Late last week, Alice and I were talking about The Mama, The Dada, and Alice’s grandparents. The bulk of our conversation centered around her father.

Now, Alice knows The Dada grew up in their home (which she views as a major coup as well as a terrible injustice, considering she wasn’t afforded the same opportunity). She was trying to wrap her little mind around the idea that The Dada was still her Nana’s and Papa’s son, in spite of the fact that he is now an adult.  This, understandably, blew her mind (or as she would say, “made [her] world rock). 

Whilst trying to come up with an acceptable explanation, she tried: “He used to be Nana and Papa’s kid.”

My sloppy response was along the lines of, “No, he still is, but he isn’t a kid anymore. He’s their son, but he’s an adult.” I could almost read The Kidling’s mind, ‘uh yeah. thanks for clearing that up, lady.’ Alas, I wasn’t surprised when she took a moment to process before coming to her conclusion: “A grown-up kid! Half kid, and half grown-up.”

What say you, Dada?

About The Mamahttp://kidlingville.comProfessional talker, editor, emailer, problem solver, adjunct lecturer, blogger, and mother to the brilliantly absurd Kidling.

12 thoughts on “the half kid

  1. Christine,
    I’m glad I could fix your WordPress problem.
    Obviously, you knew best when asking Le Clown.
    Le Clown

  2. It does amaze them that we have parents. Our boys tried telling on my husband to his dad recently. My father-in-law was in town and when my husband told our boys no to something they wanted to do they went to his dad. I loved it!

    • Aren’t they funny?! The idea that we were once children is mind-boggling. Alice recently asked for clarification that she was not in my belly at the same time I was in my mother’s belly. I assured/brainwashed her that she was not in my belly until I was an adult. A grown-up. Hear that, Alice? Old. I was old. Already had wrinkles.

whaddaya have to say for yourself?

