mind-altering substances

The Kidling was completely engrossed in her snack this weekend. After several quiet minutes, she took a break to declare, “I forgot where I was!”

Okay, now this I get. I love (love) food. What would elicit this reaction from The Mama? A creamy delice de bourguignon, a perfectly ripe tomato fresh from the garden, brussels sprouts and onion sautéed in obscene quantities of olive oil, a brownie (any brownie)…

“I forgot where I was, these crackers are so good!”

A clue! Thanks, Alice. What crackers do you, dear readers, think might be so divine as to cause The Kidling to lose her sense of place? Those tasty Nut Thins? Something with seeds and sea salt from Trader Joes? A cracker that is, in fact, a cookie? Animal crackers? Graham crackers?

No, folks, the mind-altering snack was none of these things. It was, in fact, the humble Goldfish. I am glad The Kidling is so easy to please.

p.s. While trying to remember the names of fancy crackers, I relied on The Google. I confess that I don’t really know much about fancy crackers. Anyway, I clicked on the image search just for kicks. You truly must do the same. You will get such terrific images as this:

I know why this showed up, yet it still made me giggle uncontrollably.
Source:http://missfancypants.typepad.com/little_miss_fancy_pants/2011/11/fancy-this-thanksgiving-crackers.html

 and, of course, this:

Now those are some seriously fancy crackers. Source: http://www.jkenterpraises.com/fireworks.html

and it is hard not to smile at this:

Fancy cracker infographic! Too cute to mock, really. Source: http://theculinarycreative.blogspot.com/2010/12/fancy-crackers.html

and then there was this:

This dude grows food. On its claws. J-E-A-L-O-U-S. I'm not convinced about the crackers, but that sure as heck is fancy!
Source: http://www.dailymail.co.uk/sciencetech/article-2071445/Newly-discovered-dancing-Yeti-crab-grows-food--ARM.html

I do believe I could play this game all day…

About The Mamahttp://kidlingville.comProfessional talker, editor, emailer, problem solver, adjunct lecturer, blogger, and mother to the brilliantly absurd Kidling.

11 thoughts on “mind-altering substances

  1. Wow, this post is right up my alley! While I may not share her appreciation for goldfish crackers, I can certainly appreciate the sensation of being totally engrossed in what I’m eating.
    Also, doing Google searches just to see what comes up is always good fun. Sometimes I’ll start typing something, just to see what options I’m given.

  2. Google searches are such fun – you never know what connections to an innocent and simple topic search will be made.
    I get lost in cheesecake the way Alice gets lost in goldfish crackers. 🙂

  3. Pingback: fancy cracker « the book of alice

whaddaya have to say for yourself?

