career counseling

For whatever reason, Alice was talking the other day about what she wants to do when she grows up. I am fairly certain it can be tracked back to our morning reading of Theodore Seuss Geisel’s Maybe You Should Fly a Jet! Maybe You Should Be a Vet! You know. Just a hunch.

Now that I’ve revealed my secret powers of deduction… a comment on the current goals, aspirations, ruminations, and considerations of Alice Munchkin Kidling:

I want to be a police officer, and a helper who helps people get out of water falls. And I think I might want to be a doctor. I don’t know what I want to be when I grow up! ‘Cuz there’s so many things grown ups can do when they grow up!

Not sure about you, but I’m leaning toward the waterfall gig. Here in the midwest, I’m thinking The Kidling will have lots of days off to dote on an aging Mama, no?

About The Mamahttp://kidlingville.comProfessional talker, editor, emailer, problem solver, adjunct lecturer, blogger, and mother to the brilliantly absurd Kidling.

9 thoughts on “career counseling

  1. Tevye requested that I read that very story last night! Weird. Perhaps our children have been holding secret meetings!

    Also, I’d be curious to hear how her waterfall-helper career aspirations progress.

  2. “[…]a helper who helps people get out of water falls.”
    Le Clown will be serious for once. But that seems like the most beautiful job ever.
    Le Clown

whaddaya have to say for yourself?

