humor (or “things that are not actually humorous”)

Alice surprised me Wednesday morning by starting a knock knock joke. Being the veritable font of humor that I am, I know exactly one of such jokes. You probably know which one it is without being told, so I won’t bother repeating.

I was confident that Alice would come up with something far more hilarious by accident than I could ever concoct on purpose, so I told her it was her turn.

Alice: Knock knock.

The Mama: Who’s there?

Alice: Orange I hope you don’t say banana orange again! uncontrollable giggling

I think, despite Alice’s clear belief to the contrary, that I was wrong on this one. Sorry, Kiddo. I love you, but that just wasn’t funny.

 

About The Mamahttp://kidlingville.comProfessional talker, editor, emailer, problem solver, adjunct lecturer, blogger, and mother to the brilliantly absurd Kidling.

15 thoughts on “humor (or “things that are not actually humorous”)

    • Okay, it was funny, I confess. But it was not a real joke. It was a mess. She did ask me, “what are you writing down?” as soon as I darted off for my trusty notebook… I think she is on to me.

  1. I love it. That’s one of Lidia’s favorite jokes to tell, except she’s on the other end of the spectrum. She repeats “Knock Knock” [Me: who’s there] “Banana” [Me: banana who?] “Knock Knock…” over and over and over again. After about a dozen times of me saying “Banana who?” she’ll finally say “orange” [me: orange who] “Orange you glad I didn’t say banana?!” …and then I do everything in my power not to scream YES!!!

  2. Once upon a time there was joke land. Only those under the age of six were admitted . In this land ALL jokes made by the children inhabitants were hilarious . Those above the age of 15 were not admitted so, they never understood the secret language of the joke land inhabitants.
    And that’s the truth.

    • And why are they so funny? Especially the ones that really aren’t funny. They somehow manage to be the funniest.

      I’m off to check out your post now. Cheers!

  3. Pingback: knock knock « the book of alice

whaddaya have to say for yourself?

