occupy the puzzle

Sometimes I wonder just how well I am explaining certain elements of the outside world. Case in point: the Occupy movement and the concept of protest.

We have a park in our fair city that has been occupied since fall. Alice, obviously, was curious about it. I did my best to make sense, telling her something that probably sounded about like this to Alice:

“Blah blah blah blah. And then, blah blah blah. Well, blah blah blah. Yes. And Blah.”

She has mentioned protest on several occasions since then. One time, I had the distinct impression she understood the concept. She had offered some poignant insight along the lines of,They don’t have to protest us. They know we are nice, so they don’t have to protest us.” That makes sense. Sort of. Close enough, for a four-year old.

Last week, though, we were working on a puzzle. It was harder than it ought have been, so we were struggling. Finally, we figured it out. She was pretty pleased with herself, and told me, “We protested it, and we got it fixed.”

 

 

About The Mamahttp://kidlingville.comProfessional talker, editor, emailer, problem solver, adjunct lecturer, blogger, and mother to the brilliantly absurd Kidling.

11 thoughts on “occupy the puzzle

  1. I was amazed at how well my 5 year old understood environmental sustainability when it was explained to him with concrete examples (and little talking down). I say tell them everything and watch it all stick 🙂

    • I couldn’t agree more, Vinny. We rarely offer Alice anything but a precise response. It can be hard sometimes, but I think my munchkin is more thoughtful for our efforts.

      Cheers!

  2. That’s funny. I’m wary of telling my kids about protesting, otherwise when I ask them to clean their rooms, I’m afraid I’ll find them marching through the house with signs, chanting about how unfair I’m being.

    • Ha! The visual is too good. You should do it and take pictures.

      Honestly, I don’t know that I would have thought to offer up the concept, but the park was on the way to everything (library, downtown, co-op), so she asks about it all the time…

      • Maybe I’ll make that a post for later in the week. I think it would be a lot of fun to put together. Yes, that would be hilarious.
        I suppose if she asks, then you should probably be honest with her. I’m sure that had the situation come up, I would have done the same thing.

  3. My children totally get the occupy movement. They protest doing the dishes, taking out the trash, and cleaning their rooms on a regular basis. In the name of what, they’re not sure, but they’re really adept at taking a stand against the man, er, me.

  4. Pingback: presidential politics and prehistory | the book of alice

whaddaya have to say for yourself?

