kids: terribly disgusting since 400,000 y.a.*

Kids are gross. Really gross. But sometimes, even though this is a fact of which I am well aware, The Kidling manages to surprise me. Such was the case one day last week, when Alice was watching a movie and asked me to stop it for a moment.

The Mama: Sure. Do you need to go potty?

Alice: No, I was digging in my butt. I smelled my… I sniffed my fingers to see if I needed to wash my hands.

The Mama: Were they stinky?

Alice: Yep. I sniffed my fingers and knew I needed to wash my hands.

Ick. Ickickickickick. Ick.

* I used Wiki. Don’t judge. Also, don’t be surprised if my general estimate of the beginning of Homo sapiens is wildly off.

About The Mamahttp://kidlingville.comProfessional talker, editor, emailer, problem solver, adjunct lecturer, blogger, and mother to the brilliantly absurd Kidling.

11 thoughts on “kids: terribly disgusting since 400,000 y.a.*

  1. Wow, that’s a terrific way of determining if one’s hands are in need of a wash! I can’t believe I hadn’t thought of that. “I was digging in my butt…” hahahaha, that’s too funny.

    As usual, terrific post.

    • Thanks, Moishe! Isn’t that just the grossest thing you’ve ever heard? I am continually floored by the fact that I find her overall filth and horrifying behaviors so very amusing. If you had told me that four years ago, I would have been appalled.

  2. I think that there must be some sort of chemical change that occurs in our brains when we become parents, which allows us to suddenly find the repulsive, well, hilarious. I’d have to assume that if this change didn’t occur, we’d probably end up being so repulsed by our own children that we would force them to live outside. It could also be that their very first poops after they’re born are so utterly disgusting that, comparatively-speaking, other things aren’t really so bad.

  3. Pingback: forfeiture « the book of alice

whaddaya have to say for yourself?

