Gordon Sumner love

Ahhhhhh, The Police.

The Kidling and I were having lunch out last Friday and the restaurant was playing The Police. Alice was digging the music, so I told her the singer’s name was Sting… well, actually Gordon Sumner, but he goes by Sting (you can imagine how awkward it was to try to explain celebrity name changes, but that’s not really the point of the story). Alice was thrilled by his name, and began some spontaneous word association:

“A sting ray!”

“A scorpion!”

“What else was I going to say? Oh! A jellyfish! That’s what I was going to say! A jellyfish!”

Oddly, she never did offer a bee. Which is absurd, given that she wore her way-too-small bumble bee costume (from Halloween 2009) approximately six days a week this summer and fall.

Eating commenced. Or resumed. I don’t really recall where we were in the meal-consumption process. A (very) small amount of time passed without conversation before Alice offered this observation regarding our dining experience:

“It is so lovely here. I can feel the excitement. I love the lovely songs.”

I think we have a new Police fan, wouldn’t you say?

About The Mamahttp://kidlingville.comProfessional talker, editor, emailer, problem solver, adjunct lecturer, blogger, and mother to the brilliantly absurd Kidling.

4 thoughts on “Gordon Sumner love

    • I bet. I love when we are out and about and other folks overhear our conversations. Yesterday while at a consignment store, Alice tols me that party dresses are basically just wedding dresses. I guess? Maybe? The gentleman standing nearby clearly appreciated her use of “basically” as a qualifier.

      Oh, and Alice has a scratchy little contralto voice and some quirky pronunciations. The whole package is to die for.

      Cheers!

whaddaya have to say for yourself?

