i dare you not to think of this the next time you see a rainbow

May 2011, 3 1/4 years old

It was dinner time one day last spring,* when suddenly:

Alice (yells out): I have to go potty!  (She gets up and runs away)

(time passes. a lot of it.)

Alice: Dad! I pooped!

(The Dada leaves the dinner table to see if she needs help)

The Dada: That’s got to be a world record for a 3-year old!

Alice: It’s like a rainbow!

The Dada: It’s like a brown rainbow.

Alice: It’s like a brown, icky rainbow.

(giggling ensues. a lot of it.)

(Alice runs to the dinner table to tell me)

Alice: Let me show you something big and brown and icky!

 

* You might not be surprised to hear this is from the same day that Alice told us about her yoga moves. When she’s on a roll, she is really on a roll.

About The Mamahttp://kidlingville.comProfessional talker, editor, emailer, problem solver, adjunct lecturer, blogger, and mother to the brilliantly absurd Kidling.

4 thoughts on “i dare you not to think of this the next time you see a rainbow

  1. Hahaha! A couple months ago my three year old, Carter, also created what he deemed a “poop rainbow” but he thought is was “cool” and “pretty neat” instead of “brown” and “icky”. He asked me if I loved his poop rainbow to which I replied that I loved that his poop rainbow was IN the toilet. 🙂

  2. Ravyn, it is pretty awesome, isn’t it?! And disgusting, of course. Perhaps it is awesome because it is so positivelty repulsive.

    Shoes, I am impressed by your ability to find an honest yet unheartbreaking response for Carter’s question. I might need to take lessons…

  3. Pingback: forfeiture « the book of alice

whaddaya have to say for yourself?

