p.a.r.t.y. (aka adventures in decorating)

So, the party. After the postapalooza that was Alice’s birthday week, I never did say anything about her big day. It was epic. Okay, maybe it was just a typical four-year old’s birthday party. But we had a blast.

For Alice, it is all about the cake. Who am I kidding? For both of us, it is all about the cake. Because cake, as you might have heard, is delicious. And festive. All-around terrific. Ummm, cake…

The Kidling originally asked The Mama to bake her ” … a castle cake with a dinosaur and a dragon and a princess that’s getting eaten.” Obviously, I did not comply. But she loves dinosaurs, so I went with that. Close enough, kiddo, and your princess-loving friends didn’t have to leave the party with PTSD. Everyone is better off this way…

Two hours mixing and baking + Three hours cooling + Five hours frosting... and this was the best I could do.

I had never (ever) before touched a star tip or any other frosting tool besides a big spreader and writing gels. Clearly this would not suffice for the dino. The cake was crumbling at 8:00 pm on Party Eve. Sh*t.

I was deciding whether to serve the crumbled (but delicious) pile of messy carrot cake goodness or go buy a sheet cake when I had a big glass of wine and decided to regroup. Long story short, I figured out what the problem was (All-butter frosting. Lesson learned: when the decoration matters, sacrifice your moral high ground. Shortening would have made the process sosososososo much easier.).

Yes, that tail is dismembered. Technically, it is un-membered. Pre-membered. Too tired to -member.

As the birthday girl, I thought Alice should have first choice of which piece she wanted. Imagine my absolute delight when I asked for her decision. The tail? Nope. A leg? Nope. The Kidling must have known what The Mama went through, because she asked for… it’s head. Coming right up, darling…

This felt really good. CHOP!

One happy customer...

But look at that face and tell me it wasn’t worth the trouble…
Happy birthday, AHR!
We love
lovelovelove
love you!*
……………………………………………………………………………………………………………………….
*And I hope some day you don’t hate me for this blog!
(By the way, all of the good photos were taken by the fabulous ErBear. Thank you!)
About The Mamahttp://kidlingville.comProfessional talker, editor, emailer, problem solver, adjunct lecturer, blogger, and mother to the brilliantly absurd Kidling.

3 thoughts on “p.a.r.t.y. (aka adventures in decorating)

  1. The cake was AMAZZZZINNNNNNG!! I had thought that I did pretty good with the beetle and Wonderwoman, but this was so very creative!!!

whaddaya have to say for yourself?

