my brain

A couple of days before Alice’s birthday, she was bopping her way down the stairs with both feet at the same time. Not exactly hopping. More of a slidey-bounce thing. She bopped her way down the first two (carpeted) steps before stopping on the (hard wood) landing to reassess.

(pointing to the steps)

“If I fall down there, then I would crack my head open. If I crack my head open my brain will come out. So maybe I should just step down there.”

Ah, yes. Moments of clarity in an otherwise quirkily-rationalized* four-year old world. You make The Mama proud, Alice.

* Of course I know this is a hideous compound modifier. And of course I know “quirkily” is not a word. Again, though, I sacrifice accuracy for rhythmic flow. Do you really prefer, “a four-year old’s world that is rationalized in a quirky manner” ? Of course not. And neither do I.

About The Mamahttp://kidlingville.comProfessional talker, editor, emailer, problem solver, adjunct lecturer, blogger, and mother to the brilliantly absurd Kidling.

3 thoughts on “my brain

  1. Sometimes proper English must be sacrificed for the sake of rhythmic flow – especially when the topic is children and their quirks. 🙂
    Hey – I wanted to let you know that I passed along the 7×7 Link Award to you (there is more info on it on my last post). I only found you a short while ago but I love your short and sweet posts about Alice.

    • You are too kind. Thank you! You only recently found my blog because I have been blogging for exactly one month today. I think that makes you an early adopter, no? And I think your blog is terrific. I started following after the first post I read.

      Well, you just made my day. Cheers to you!

  2. Pingback: 49* « the book of alice

whaddaya have to say for yourself?

