the filibuster fit

February 2010, 25 months old

Alice was annoyed with me for something. I forget what, but she wanted to do something she shouldn’t, and I told her as much.

She declared, “Alice mad” and sat down, then laid back calmly, all the while saying “Alice mad.”

I picked her up and she said, calmly, “Alice throw a fit.”

I don’t think she gets that fits aren’t like filibusters: simply declaring that you are throwing one does not make it fact.

But it was really even funnier than that.  She was declaring that she WAS throwing a fit.  In other words, “This is my fit.  I am mad.  See, I am throwing a fit right now.”

Little did I know then, she was saving the real fits for when she was a bit older…

About The Mamahttp://kidlingville.comProfessional talker, editor, emailer, problem solver, adjunct lecturer, blogger, and mother to the brilliantly absurd Kidling.

whaddaya have to say for yourself?

